I hate my job

This Christmas will be my fourth year at my retail job.

This past week at work was really tough on me…mentally. I mean physically too because it hurts my feet to stand for six hours and my neck hurts when I’m on the register for too long.

But mentally I was not happy….because I hate retail more than anything.

I will stand by my thinking that I believe everyone should work retail at some point in their life so you see how not to treat people. How not to leave your fitting room. How not to respond to someone who is only there to help you. How not to destroy a table someone just spend an hour folding.

I don’t hate my job because I love my managers and my coworkers and they make this work doable and the reason why I come back every winter and every summer.

I hate the customers.And the coupons. And having to constantly ask customers to apply for a credit card (I’M SORRY IT’S MY JOB STOP GETTING MAD AT ME). I hate when customers are rude to me. And when they are on the phone the entire transaction. I hate teenagers who think they’re too cool to say “hi” back or “you too” when I tell them to have a good one. I hate when they get mad at me for a company policy or something that’s out of my control. I get your frustration but it’s not my fault.

My depression does not allow me to get over small things that frustrate me. I hold onto it all day like a poison. My whole day is ruined.

Sometimes I think customers don’t see retail workers as humans because we get so mad at them for doing their jobs…I used to be guilty of this.

I’m staying at school during the winter in my house and was planning on transferring to a store down there but I don’t know if I can mentally do it anymore. It makes me unhappy…especially when I get scheduled in the morning. When I’m scheduled in the evening I can wake up early and work out which puts me in a good mood…but when I don’t workout before work I tend to be more on edge and more irritable.

But the money is too good.

During the Christmas time I work 40 hours a week and during the summer my manager always gives me max 35 hours for the off season.

I just got a nice raise.

So it’s probably something I’ll stick around with for another two years until I get a real career.

But I’m not going to be happy doing it.

So here are some memes that make me laugh when I need to laugh at my job

iteln-didint-scan-tell-me-again-howivou-think-it-should-2598113d1f449e3cbb4e53e03846cef1332e747db0b78a292cc2fb62e645fa4eaa1d820sub-buzz-9088-1466011571-1sub-buzz-13468-1466022051-1sub-buzz-13569-1466021928-1sub-buzz-18232-1466011585-1sub-buzz-20730-1466092293-3sub-buzz-26940-1466015719-14

How do you get through tough times at work?

Ashley

About ashleyshaffner

20 year girl going into her THIRD year of college just trying to figure out how to do this 'life' thing
This entry was posted in all and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I hate my job

  1. Daniel payne says:

    Hey I know how you feel ice worked retail and it sucks asking for people to apply for a credit card lol but for the past couple years I’ve worked at a factory, and I’ve hated it with a passion. But, it was great pay and good hours. I loathes going to work every morning. Well, a couple months ago I got laid off, which was a huge bummer because like I said it paid great and I just got a house. But as it turns out, it was a major blessing in disguise because let’s face it as much as I hated it, I would have stayed for years for the money. Maybe forever. But now I’ve found a job in a field I actually like, and even though it’s not near as much money, I actually like my job and I know I can work my way up. Sorry this was so wordy but i know exactly how you feel lol sometimes you gotta be forced to take a leap of faith… and sometimes you gotta stay put until what you really want comes along. Just don’t give up on finding a job you love!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad you found a job you are happier at!! You can’t put a price on happiness and mental health…and I’ve always been aware of that since I’m going for school for early childhood education. But I think I’m just at such an awkward time in my life with my age…I’ve been at this store for so long that I don’t even know where else I would work and I would hate starting over and feeling anxiety from that. It’s a lose lose situation lol but I appreciate your response so much because it made me more aware of how temporary this is! I’ll get through this and I’ll take my leap of faith 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: a bittersweet goodbye | College with Ashley

  3. Why are you hate your job/?

    Like

Leave a comment