a bittersweet goodbye

If you’ve been following this blog from the beginning then you probably know that I work in retail and I’ve discussed my hatred of this customer service job. This Christmas will be four years that I’ve worked at the same JCPenney in my hometown. I worked my first year in the kids department (a great form of birth control) and the past three years I’ve worked in the women’s department (a great way to see how disgusting women really are).

I have cleaned up menstrual blood in the fitting room, I’ve accidentally grabbed piles of clothes that have been peed on, I’ve had to remove chairs in the rooms that have been peed on, I’ve heard of people pooping in the stalls too.

Does this happen in the men’s department? No.

Women are disgusting.

But through the thousands of fitting rooms that I’ve cleared and tables that I’ve folded, I have met some of the most amazing women.

And Tuesday I had to say goodbye and work my last shift with them.

Some of them are newer faces that haven’t been there as long as I have but some of have been with the company for over 1o years. My favorite woman to work with is Connie: a 69 year old grandmother who bakes four dozen cookies every friday for the store and bought me a Woodwick candle when I said goodbye.

My favorite manager, Danielle, is a southern lady who I can call a friend. She gave me a cake that said ‘you will be missed’.

IMG_7365

I cried.

Three times.

And although I am staying with the company and transferring to a closer store in Oxford, I feel sad knowing that I will not work with these women anymore. The ones who made long Friday night shifts bearable. The ones who are always up for Applebee’s half priced apps after closing. The ones who are always up to complain about our jobs but continue to work retail. And the ones who play bean boozled and get the rotten egg flavored jelly beans.

I am forever grateful for the four years I spent at this store and I can’t wait to text them during Christmas to meet up for half priced apps.

Ashley

About ashleyshaffner

20 year girl going into her THIRD year of college just trying to figure out how to do this 'life' thing
This entry was posted in all and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a bittersweet goodbye

  1. hmillerfit says:

    Mmm, gotta love customer service! Lol.

    I used to work at Dick’s Sporting Goods and once witnessed a kid literally pull down his pants to pee on the floor, right in the main aisle. That was fun.

    I am a recent graduate from college, and would love to share a post with you that I have recently written. It’s helpful and humorous. 🙃

    A Letter From a Fellow Graduate

    Like

  2. great post! love that

    Like

Leave a comment